33revolutionsperminute's Blog

 

 

After 15 years of being the interviewer rather than the interviewee, promoting 33 Revolutions Per Minute gave me an insight into how musicians come to dread certain questions. For me it was the inevitable: “Where are the protest songs of today?” It was a reasonable question but I could never find a satisfactory answer, because they certainly exist but you have to look hard for them. I wanted to be positive and celebratory, especially because most readers of the book seemed to take the ambivalent phrase “wondering if I had composed an eulogy” to mean “I have definitely composed a eulogy”. But I couldn’t pretend we were witnessing the dawn of a new golden age of the protest song.

Of course people wouldn’t have kept interviewing me if the book had been published a year or two earlier. I could never have imagined when I finished it, let…

View original post 3,480 more words

